Turkish Coins

A meeting point of Europe, Asia and Africa, the Republic of Turkey has had a rich history going back millennia. Following the abolition of monarchy in 1922 the Republic was established in 1923.

The Lira existed as part of the Ottoman empire in 1844, and then in Turkish forms from 1923 -2005, and 2005 – present, following redenomination.

Gold coins minted in Turkey are commonly marked with the year 1923, in which the Republic was founded, followed by the number of years that have passed since then. Along with Lira, there is the Piastres - or Kurush - coin.

Below are a further selection of limited and rare Turkish coins that we currently have in stock.

Sort by: